susieworld

If you want sense, you're going to have to make it yourself.

As seen on TV October 7, 2011

Filed under: Shopping,Susie's World — susieworld @ 5:29 PM

I think I need to drop BEFORE I start to shop. It's safer.

My husband has been saying for years that I am an advertiser’s dream.  He’s right.  I just watched the season premiere of “Glee” (I have a DVR) and suddenly wanted spaghetti after seeing a plate of it dumped on the wheelchair kid’s head.

That is sad, but mostly frightening. Mainly because we didn’t have any microwavable pasta products in the house and my domestic goddess skills are sorely lacking, so I had no intention of cooking up a batch of pasta at 9 p.m.

This got me to thinking about all those “As Seen on TV” products and the evil “As Seen on TV” store in my local mall.  It’s always my last stop after I’ve done all my Christmas shopping because I know I’ll be able to find some messed-up gift for someone to whom it would be completely inappropriate to give.

If I had the money, everyone on my gift list would be guaranteed a Shake Weight for Christmas.  There’s something innately hilarious about the idea of my mother-in-law using it and not knowing how completely phallic it is.

I’m an impulse shopper.  I’m the worst about it, really.  It costs me dearly in money I have no business spending, but it’s so worth it!!

My need to instantly NEED something I’ve seen on TV is one of my most dangerous characteristics.  It often involves food – suddenly I want a Cinnabon and I don’t even LIKE cinnamon rolls.

Thankfully, I don’t feel any need to watch QVC, or I’d be in real trouble.

Now I need to surf the internet because I just saw a picture of Katie Holmes in Us Weekly with a shopping bag in hand.  As my friend Alanna once said, “You spend money like you have it!”

 

Leave a Reply

