susieworld

If you want sense, you're going to have to make it yourself.

Where’s the on-off switch? October 14, 2011

Filed under: My Life — susieworld @ 6:24 AM

Microsoft needs to develop one of these for people's brains. Get on that, Gates!

     It’s only 11 p.m., but by the time I finish spewing my thoughts on insomnia, it will probably be considerably later.
     Tomorrow is a big day.  I have a job interview for a local non-profit to become their volunteer social media director.  I really want this gig.  I don’t care if there’s no money in it.  I want to help people and gain valuable job experience in the process.  It’s not until 1 p.m., though, so I have hours to stay awake and still get a decent “night’s” sleep.  But I want to train my brain to shut down before midnight for a change.
     There is also another opportunity for my “paying” job tomorrow at 10 a.m.  There will be a D.A. press conference on a major case that made national news when it happened a few years back.  I really want to go to this thing.  I miss going to press conferences.  I haven’t been to any since I started reporting again because, well, I’m not even paid enough money to cover the gas to get to the Civic Center.  But this one is a big one and I want in on the action.  I really want to get back into the whole shebang when it comes to Journalism Career 2.0.
     So sleep would be the most viable option for me right now, but instead of hitting the sheets, I’m up blogging about my personal life.
     I truly wish there were an on-off switch for my brain.  Apparently there used to be one, since sleep once came easy to me.  Now I envision myself lying in bed and staring at the ceiling while my husband and dog play tag-team snoring games with each other from either side of me.
     Actually, that is probably the worst part.  Being in the same room with people (and dogs!) who can fall asleep within minutes of their heads hitting their pillows.  I have pillow envy.  Self-diagnosis!  Problem solved!  No?  Problem averted?  No.  I’m still awake.
 

Leave a Reply

